Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

History Award 2019

History Award 2019

​​Deadline for research submissions 1 May

>>Learn more about the award

BRUSSSELS, 21 February 2019 – The European Savings and Retail Banking Group (ESBG) and World Savings and Retail Banking Institute (WSBI) announced today that they welcome submissions of academic research to be considered for this year's Savings and Retail Banking History Award. 

Research should focus on areas that addresses either the evolution of financial systems or savings in the community in general for this years. WSBI-ESBG particularly encourages research into the history of savings and retail banks, and studies that address the day-to-day development and work of savings and retail banks. The two associations also welcome academics to submit work that addresses the history of savings mobilisation, especially if the research focuses on the history of financial literacy or on the history of financial advice.

Submissions to the Savings and Retail Banking History Award should be written in a clear, understandable, narrative style. They should be suitable for both publishing in academic/savings banks professional circles and study by a wider audience.

The three best submissions will share a total prize money of ​9,000 (€5,000 for the winner, €2,500 for the second prize and €1,500 for the third prize).

Entries must comply with the criteria laid out in the official rules, and must be submitted to WSBI-ESBG by email before 1 May 2019.

Applicants should address their submissions to the WSBI-ESBG secretariat for the attention of Ms Nancy Lockkamper, Archivist, and send them to

For practical information, please contact your country's national contact. See the list of country contacts.

WSBI-ESBG will contact and announce the finalists before 30 June 2019.

The official Awarding Ceremony will be organised at the occasion of the next Financial History Workshop on 27 September 2019, in Vienna.


Award mission​ and vision

It's 200 years since pioneers such as Henry Duncan in Scotland, Georg Christian Oeder in Germany, and Benjamin Delessert and François de la Rochefoucauld in France launched innovative institutions, now known as savings and retail banks, to collect the savings of private households and re-invest these funds responsibly and sustainably in the local community (in both SMEs and local authorities). These savings banks continue to be forward-looking and innovative, while still guarantying reliable and accessible services to the maximum number of people.

A significant amount of research has been conducted on the banking sector, and specifically on savings banks, but there is still plenty of unknown territory to discover and explore.

The European Savings and Retail Banking Group (ESBG) and World Savings and Retail Banking Institute (WSBI) believe it is essential to encourage and support research into savings and retail banks and financial history. This research is needed to increase awareness and appreciation of the characteristics of savings and retail banks within the context of the multi-dimensional world of banking.

The award seeks to:

  • encourage historical and comparative research into the savings and retail banking industry worldwide
  • stimulate thought and discussion on trends and market forces affecting the evolution of the industry
  • strengthen collaboration among international research centers and academia

Financial History