Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

ECB announces members of Digital Euro Market Advisory Group

ECB announces members of Digital Euro Market Advisory Group

> ECB appoints 30 senior business professionals with proven experience

> Members to advise Eurosystem on design and distribution of potential digital euro

> Meetings of group to be held at least quarterly, starting in November 2021

25 October 2021 - The European Central Bank (ECB) has today announced the members of the Market Advisory Group for the digital euro project.

The Eurosystem’s High-Level Task Force on Central Bank Digital Currency called for expressions of interest on 14 July, following the Governing Council’s approval of the digital euro project investigation phase. After assessing applications, the selection committee appointed 30 senior business professionals with proven experience and a broad understanding of the euro area retail payments market.

“I am pleased that many high-quality experts from the private sector are willing to contribute to the digital euro project”, says ECB Board Member Fabio Panetta, Chair of the High-Level Task Force.

“Their expertise will facilitate the integration of prospective users’ and distributors’ views on a digital euro during the investigation phase.”

Members of the Market Advisory Group will act in a personal capacity, advising the Eurosystem on the design and distribution of a potential digital euro from an industry perspective, and on how a digital euro could add value for all players in the euro area’s diverse payments ecosystem. A representative from the European Commission and representatives from Eurosystem national central banks will also participate in the group.

Meetings are to be held at least quarterly, starting in November 2021, and written consultations will be organised between meetings. The issues identified will also be considered in the Eurosystem’s established forum for institutional dialogue on retail payments, the Euro Retail Payments Board (ERPB). The ERPB consists of high-level representatives of industry associations and represents a wide range of stakeholders. In addition, the Eurosystem will engage with the public and merchants through dedicated surveys (e.g. of focus groups) and will continue to hold technical workshops with the industry.


Members of the Digital Euro Market Advisory Group:

  • Aleksander Kurtevski, Managing Director, Bankart
  • Alessandro De Cristofaro, Director Digital Innovation Strategy, CRIF
  • Antonio Macías Vecino, Head of Payments Discipline, BBVA
  • Axel Schaefer, Payment Regulation and Innovation Specialist, Ingka Group (IKEA)
  • Cristian Cengher, Product Owner Cross Border Payments, Erste Group Bank AG
  • Cyril Vignet, Project Manager Innovation, Banque Populaire Caisse d'Epargne
  • Diederik Bruggink, Head of Payments and Innovation, European Savings and Retail Banking Group
  • Etienne Goosse, Director General, European Payments Council
  • Fanny Solano, Director Digital and Retail Regulation, Transparency and Implementation, CaixaBank
  • Fernando Rodríguez Ferrer, Head of Business Development, Bizum
  • Gerard Hartsink, Chairman, ICC DSI Industry Advisory Board
  • Inga Mullins, CEO, Fluency
  • Jens Holeczek, Head of Digital Payment Unit, National Association of German Cooperative Banks
  • Jochen Siegert, Managing Director, Global Head of Asset Platforms, Deutsche Bank AG
  • Nicolas Kozakiewicz, Chief Innovation Officer, Worldline
  • Nilixa Devlukia, CEO, Payments Solved
  • Nils Beier, Managing Director, Accenture Strategy & Consulting
  • Paul Le Manh, Advisor to CEO, EPI Interim Company
  • Piet Mallekoote, Former CEO, Dutch Payments Association
  • Régis Folbaum, Head of Payments, La Banque Postale
  • Roberto Catanzaro, Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer, Nexi Group
  • Ruth McCarthy, Managing Director, FEXCO Corporate Payments
  • Sean Mullaney, Head of Payment Engineering, EMEA Payments, Stripe
  • Silvia Attanasio, Head of Innovation, Associazione Bancaria Italiana
  • Sofia Lindh Possne, Senior Advisor, Group Regulatory Affairs, Swedbank
  • Stefano Favale, Head of Global Transaction Banking, Intesa Sanpaolo
  • Teresa Mesquita, Chief Marketing and Product Officer, SIBS Forward Payment Solutions
  • Valdis Bergs, Chairman of the Board, Mobilly sia
  • Ville Sointu, Head of Emerging Technologies, Nordea
  • Yves Blavet, Open Banking Director, Société Générale