Contestants and entries

  • Contestants must be educated to at least bachelor degree level.
  • Full-time professors are not eligible to enter. Visiting professors, lecturers, and assistant professors are permitted.
  • Members of the assessment panel are not allowed to participate.
  • Finalists of former editions of the History Award (Savings Banks Academic Award) are not permitted to compete.
  • Applications are preferably written in English. Applications in French, German, Spanish or Italian are accepted.
  • The application must include:
    • a curriculum vitae
    • a letter of introduction from a supporting professor or examination board
    • a manuscript of maximum 30 pages conforming to the style sheet guidelines
    • a complete research study, though only the manuscript will be considered for the Award.
  • Entries must unpublished at the time of submission
  • Entries that fail to comply with these official rules will be disqualified.

Selection criteria

Submissions are evaluated based on the structure and methodology of the paper, the breadth of analysis, the relevance and originality of the research, the importance of the results for savings and retail banks, and the attention given to the origins and values of savings and retail banking institutions. The manuscript should follow a clear narrative form. Econometrical calculations and elaborations, and cliometrics, should be included in the annex. Papers focussing on the history of Financial Literacy and/or Financial Advise are especially welcomed !  

Assessment panel

  • Entries will be reviewed by an international panel comprising university professors, editors, and savings bank managers from different European countries, and presided over by Chris De Noose, WSBI-ESBG Managing Director.
  • The panel will select the winner, as well as a maximum of two runners-up, by consensus. Each member of the panel has one vote. In the absence of a majority, the president of the panel holds the deciding vote.
  • Should none of the submitted manuscripts be satisfactory, the panel can decide not to award the prize.
  • All members of the panel will abide by the confidentiality of the voting and deliberation process.
  • The result of the competition will be presented to the WSBI and ESBG Board of Directors.

Awarding of the prize

  • The winner will be awarded a prize of €5,000, the second place finalist €2,500, and the third place finalist €1,500.
  • The winning manuscript will be considered for publication in one of the following publications, depending on the theme, relevance, and readability of the work:
    • "Cahiers de l'épargne"' of the "Association pour l'histoire des Caisses d'Epargne"
    • "Research Studies" of the "European Savings and Retail BankIng Group-World Savings and Retail Banking Institute.
    • "Sparkassen in der Geschichte" of the "Wissenschaftsförderung der SparkassenFinanzgruppe"
    • "Estudios" de la Fundación de las Cajas de Ahorros Confederadas para la Investagacion Económica y Social
  • The editors of these publications will hold the publishing rights for one year. If publication of the work is not guaranteed during the first year following the award, the author has full rights to publish their work. The editors should inform the author whether their work will be published within three months of the award.
  • The runners-up will be invited to publish their articles as academic research papers on the WSBI-ESBG website.
  • The finalists agree to attend or to be officially represented at the official awarding ceremony. The ceremony will occur at the occassion of the next Financial History Workshop in Vienna,
    on 27 September 2019. If publication of the winning study is decided prior to the award ceremony, then the publication will be presented to the public during the event. Organisers are not obliged to publish the winning manuscript.
  • By submitting an application, candidates agree to accept the terms and conditions outlined in the official rules of the Savings and Retail Banking History Award.